Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/seanbean/public_html/press/ on line 11
Sean Bean Online Press Archive • All the Bean news and press articles

BPG members are invited to participate in choosing the Broadcasting Press Guild TV Awards, for programmes broadcast in 2009, by voting on the online form.
The 36th BPG Awards are sponsored by UKTV’s award-winning channel Dave.
You’ll notice that the reminder lists are shorter this year. The BPG Executive Committee decided to create a new Nominations Committee to create shorter, more manageable first-round nomination lists. Programmes had to meet several criteria: they were well-received by audiences, and/or critics; they made the “top picks” of national newspaper and trade publications lists; and/or they were innovative and compelling, in the view of the Nominations Committee. Thank you to those who made suggestions at the pre-voting phase, via the Suggestion Box on our website. These have also been added to the first round nominations lists.
Voting is conducted in two stages.
In the first round, every paid-up member of the BPG has the opportunity to nominate a first and second choice in seven programme categories and four personal award categories. You can vote for a first and a second choice, but the second must be for a different programme or person. Or you can vote for a first OR a second choice only. (More points go to a first choice vote and fewer to a second choice vote.)
First round voting begins today, Monday January 25th, and your votes have to be in by the end of the day on Thursday February 4th 2010. The voting process on our website is straightforward and worked well last year but if you have any problems, please e-mail Julian Clover.
The second and final round of voting to select the Winners will take place from February 11th to the 18th.
We also welcome nominations on the voting form from all members for the BPG Innovation Award, which is for “innovation in broadcasting” – a sweeping definition which allows us to reward something new in programme content, or related to technology, or something else that’s breaking new ground in the broadcast arena.
Please write in nomination ideas on the form, with a few words explaining your choice.
The BPG Radio Awards will be judged by members specialising in that sector.
The Harvey Lee Award for an outstanding contribution to broadcasting will be awarded by the BPG Executive Committee, as will the BPG Award for Innovation.

Best Actor

Tom Hardy, Wuthering Heights, ITV1 and The Take, Sky1
Brendan Gleeson, Into the Storm, BBC2
Chiwetel Ejiofor, Endgame, C4
James Nesbitt, Occupation, BBC1 and Five Minutes of Heaven, BBC2
Stephen Graham, Occupation, BBC1
Andrew Garfield, Red Riding, C4
David Morrissey, Red Riding, C4
Sean Bean, Red Riding, Channel 4
Aidan Turner, Being Human, BBC3 and Desperate Romantics, BBC2
David Tennant, Hamlet, BBC2 and Doctor Who, BBC1
Ciaran Hinds, Above Suspicion, ITV1
David Oyelowo, Small Island, BBC1
Dougie Henshall, Collision, ITV1
Peter Capaldi, The Thick of It, BBC2
Tim Roth, Skellig, Sky1
John Sessions, Margaret, BBC2
Timothy Spall, The Fattest Man in Britain, ITV1
David Haig, The Thick of It, BBC2
John Hurt, An Englishman in New York, ITV1
Source of this article : Broadcasting Press Guild